The Student Room Group

Is it okay to do another BA (Hons) after already graduating with a BA (Hons)?

I'm in my final year. Lost and don't know what to do after I graduate. To be honest, I haven't had the university experience that I dreamt of and thus have not achieved what I would like to have achieved. I do not think that I am going to graduate with a 2:1 let alone a first! I am very much capable of these grades though. Initally, I thought it would be a good idea to do a masters but now seeing how my grades are coming along, I am thinking maybe I won't earn a place on a masters course. I wanted or want to do a masters course to better my qualifications and also have the university experience that I wish I had.

Anyway, I thought maybe it would be a good idea to choose another university and choose a subject that I am actually passionate about. Is it unusual for people to embark on two BA (Hons) degrees?
Reply 1
Yes. In fact, believe it or not, it's actually illegal.
Reply 2
Lol :smile:

It's fairly unusual because you'll have to pay for it all yourself. There's absolutely no funding for second undergrad degrees, which makes it a very expensive option.

However, I do know a number of people who've got into Master's courses with 2:2s. Since you'll have to pay either way, why not just go on and take an MA/MSc? If you do a good interview, and can get a good reference, a low degree result need not necessarily be a bar. My experience when I was considering an MA was that your degree result often came second to your ability to pay ...
Reply 3