The Student Room Group

Oral Secrets :D

Many people seem to score the highest in their orals and some even get FULL MARKS, it first sounded impossible to me(since that means one has to be fluent and exceptionally good like a native speaker), but then...seeing lots people getting ful marks ornear full marks, I am starting to think that there are some kind of "secrets" people are using..XD :biggrin:

So yeah, for those of you, regardless of GCSE, A-level or etc, how did you prepare for your oral exams in order to get the full mark or near full mark (or basically just a high mark:biggrin:)? What are you secrets to it? :biggrin:
And does it depend on your exam board? :biggrin:

Generally, I am not very good with orals, but one tip I got from my friend has been working pretty well for me..at least in my mocks.. :biggrin:. And that is....
...waffle.XDDD Waffle until you have thought of stuff to say.XD
Reply 1
I got my best marks in my oral section for both spanish and french gcse and as.
For me it is literally all about practice and confidnece.
You have to feel comfortable with the examiner, for me that is my teacher which helps.
In the run up to it, be prepared to talk to everyone in your chosen langauge - I'm sure my mum learnt a low about spains low birthrate last may even though she speaks no spanish because i just kept reciting my speech.
I even found myself doing it in Smiths once! haha.

I also find that you know exactly what is coming up in the oral - especially at gcse.
You will know your speech if you have one, by heart.
roleplays are just set phrases.
general conversations are topics you will have discussed.
And we did so many documents, you learn how to answer them like any other question.

and yes waffle.
it makes you sound more fluent.
And the less your teacher has to ask questions the better!
Reply 2