The Student Room Group

What to expect from WJEC FR1 oral?

Hi,

I'm pretty new at this, but I'm currently in high school. I'm preparing to take AS French in the summer (all three exams), but my oral is coming up on 29 April and I don't know what the format of the exam will be.

I understand that there are three "topic areas" (leisure, school and issues of young people I think) and that within those there are subtopics like sport, hobbies and travel/tourism within "leisure". From what I can gather from the spec I need to prepare one subtopic from each topic, and the examiner will ask me about 2 of the 3. Apparently I'll also need to "demonstrate an understanding of French culture" :s-smilie: .

My main questions are:

-Will it be a structured discussion, or will the direction of the conversation depend on the examiner's mood on the day?
-Am I right in thinking it's only three subtopics, or is it the whole topic?
-How can I prepare for this if I don't know what the conversation will be like (I can't exactly learn a script like we can at GCSE)

And the biggie...

-What do I need to do to demonstrate an understanding of French culture?? :confused:

My teacher hasn't done WJEC before, my contact at the college I'm working with is away on holiday and I'm (hopefully) going over there on Monday for a lesson so I'd like to be able to get somewhere with this to check with her I'm on the right track.

Any help would be much appreciated - I'll be eternally grateful for all answers!

Thanks
Reply 1
Muppety_Kid
Hi,

I'm pretty new at this, but I'm currently in high school. I'm preparing to take AS French in the summer (all three exams), but my oral is coming up on 29 April and I don't know what the format of the exam will be.