The Student Room Group

Doing IB Next Year

I'm doing IB next year and I just want to know how it's like in general.

1) Is there a lot of coursework or is it more exam based?

2) How is maths standard? Is it a lot harder than Higher GCSE Maths?

3) Any suggestions for CAS? I already do quite a bit of sports and play a few instruments, but I don't think its enough. I don't do much community service and the last time I did it, I found it slightly tedious (I was doing the basic filing papers, gluing bits of paper). Any ideas for more enjoyable choices?

4) What do you do in theory of knowledge exactly?

5) Can the extended essay be on just about anything that is curriculum based?

6) I'm doing higher english so I have to study 15 novels. Should I start reading during the summer break or would there be to much pressure and workload if I start in September?

7) Lastly, I'm planning to take higher psychology. I've never done psychology before, so would it be too much to handle and digest?

Any help is appreciated.
xrawriorx

Personally, if i could take upper and power sixth all over again i would do the A-levels, it is much easier relatively to get 3 A's than 40-42+ points (the equivalent of 6 As at A-level) which is asked for by Oxbridge, Med school, etc.

xrawriorx

As far as i can remember most subjects have a coursework component of about 10-20%, it really depends on your choices.

The problems come with exams, you are examined on everything you have learnt in the whole of the 2 years, a lot rides on the performance of those exams, it is a lot of work, a lot of stress and it can undo everything. With AS's and A levels it is very modular, so by the time of your last exams, you may already have a B or a C grade and if you do mess up the exam or don't get the grade you want you simply retake it, rather than retaking everything.

xrawriorx