The Student Room Group

Advice on AH Applied Mathematics

Hi,
AH Applied Maths is a course I'm strongly considering doing. It would be entirely self-taught, as the closest thing there is to a teacher able to assist me is in physics (if I was to go the mechanics route). There seem to be quite a few people on TSR who have did this.

I'm having trouble deciding whether to study the statistics units or the mechanics units. Which would you recommend? They're both interesting, hence my inability to decide!

Although stats requires a little more work for internal assessments (with the reports), there are reputable textbooks specific to the AH (and not A-level). Regardless of which I choose, there will be little overlap with any other course (i.e. A/H physics) except for AH maths.

All advice, general and specific, is much appreciated!
Thanks!

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Mechanics is what I did.
In my school, around 3/17 passed, at least that number got As at mechanics I think.
The advantage of mechanics is, that it is in fact, just the mechanics units of higher and advanced physics, and then unit 1 of advanced maths.
So I'd definitely say mechanics if you're doing physics/did higher.
Reply 2
Slumpy
So I'd definitely say mechanics if you're doing physics/did higher.

17 people? Would I be correct to assume that you were taught?

Since my school can't run AH physics, I did something other than Higher for S5. I'm taking it this year, though.

How much of AH mechanics is in Higher (not AH) physics?

Thanks. :smile:
Reply 3
The stats class were taught.
The mechanics class were taught for a little bit, but largely not.
Due to the fact I did physics and was pretty good, I ended up doing a fair bit of the teaching people by the end.
Well, I'd say just at a guess that about one unit of mechanics is respectively, maths unit 1, higher mechanics, advanced mechanics.