The Student Room Group
Geography is probably one of the hardest subjects to describe what its about. Basically it has physical geography (e.g. coasts) and human (e.g. crowded cities). It's about issues surrounding these physical and human topics and how they interlink. I find it really interesting because you can relate a lot of it to your own personal knowledge and experiences.
Reply 2
thanks
i obviously did it in years 7,8,9 but what you learn there must be completly different to a-level right??
i suppose the disadvantage is not taking it for a-level, i have no idea what im getting into, it was either geography or german!!!
and i am not very good at langauages.
if i was to really work hard and revise loads could i get a decent grade?
Reply 3
my friend didnt take it at gcse, got a B at AS, resat some units and got an A at A2 and is now studying it at uni! and she took it because she had to as well! so dont worry about it too much, just get hold of a gcse textbook to have a read through as AS is very similar to the gcse.
Reply 4
Yep. If you put a decent amount of effort into it (Not necessarily more than any student who studied it at GCSE) you can come out with a really good grade :smile:

I'm at University now but I did do Geography A level (I did do it at GCSE too). What I found is that the stuff I did at GCSE was very basic in comparison to A level. In fact many of the technical words we used in GCSE wern't used in A levels - We had to learn newer, more technical and "harder" words :p:

Of course someone who has done GCSE may be at a slight advantage, but it's by no means something that would hold you back. It's a really interesting course and a lot of it focuses on you being able to describe consequences/advantages/disadvantages of physical/human aspects of Geography, rather than concrete knowledge of Geographical theory :wink: