The Student Room Group

work outside french class...what?!

im currently studying as level french and im absolutely dying to do it at uni but this year i'm not feeling as confident and im not as ahead as I was at GCSE. I've never had to revise for a french test before and now I'm averaging Bs. Can anyone give me any advice on how to not get left behind. Should I be doing outside reading? If so, can you recommend anything? Or should I be fanatically learning vocab? Someone please give me a boot up the backside and tell me what I should be doing!!!

all help much appreciated :smile:
try and read lots .eg french newspapers online, Le monde etc. But if u dont have lots of time, there s a book called Mot a Mot by Humberstone- u can prob find it on amazon, which has excelllent vocab for the major topics and include some of those phrases in ure essays and ure sorted. Also use the subjunctive ( probably in back of textbook)or learn set phrases like Bienqu'il y ait beaucoup de problemes sociaux .....THat will sound really impressive. Generally good grammar, .e.g very solid understanding of tenses and agreements will make ure french sound good. And if u cud use the subjunctive or the passive with right agreement e.g les rues sont encombrees.( the roads are cluttered up) then u ll be even set for A2. But just do it slowly and build up ure knowledge gradually.
Reply 2
Richy Rich$$