The Student Room Group

Essay due in today- help?

I'm new to philosophy and so far, am regretting taking it as a wild module. :frown:

Anyway.

I have an essay due in at 5pm and I have done...**** all. I don't know how to write a philosophy essay, at all.

There are loads of questions to choose from, but I've narrowed it down to-

"How (if at all) can you be sure you are not dreaming?"

I am really stuck, don't even know how to begin. Any help is very appreciated!

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
umm... get off TSR and start typing?
Reply 2
I would if I knew what to type and how to start it.
Reply 3
Seriously though, you should plan it first (duh). Find some key quotations and use them. Pretty much sorta like an English Literature essay. Use the quote/point and explain it whilst linking it (if you can) to another. Offer two way arguments for each point but your essay MUST have a firm conclusion from your point of view. IMO there's far too many rhetorical statements in Philosophy.
Maybe say something about pain?? Like when you pinch yourself to see if you are awake??
Don't put lots of rhetorical questions in-it makes your argument look weak. I do 4 essay subjects-Philosophy is the hardest by far!
I'm guessing that question is based off Descartes, get a copy of his book if you can, and scan read it like your life depends on it!
Also, have you searched TSR for a thread question on this on D+D? I find those threads really useful for Philosophy. If not, go to your local library and take out a book which will illustrate the basic arguments. Then, just add some quotes and a definitive conclusion.
Reply 8
I have the book, it makes me want to die inside. :bricks:

Thanks for help everyone :smile:
Trust me, I know the feeling when writing those essays... Good luck anyway :smile: