The Student Room Group

Deloitte – From Application Form to Job Offer- International Student

Hello everyone,

I had a partner phone call yesterday offering me a position at Deloitte for the autumn 2009 start. I am sure that all the many helpful threads in this forum played a fundamental role in my success, and so I just wanted to contribute with an account of my own experience.

I am an international student with a degree and an ongoing PhD in popular music studies. So, all those threads about universities and degrees can be misleading. Simply, to successfully apply to a Big 4 you need to meet the minimum requirements, fulfil the company’s core competencies, and fit into the working culture of the company.

I started to do my research on professional services probably around May. This forum, the wiki job page, and the career service at my university were of great help, as well as all Big4 websites. To learn about the current market situation and to keep up with financial news I downloaded the wake up to money podcast from the BBC page. I have listened to most of them since June. I occasionally also looked at the guardian online, especially before interviews.