The Student Room Group

UK student - Masters abroad?

Hi TSR,

I'm a second year student at the Uni of Manchester and recently I've been very curious about the idea of doing my Masters abroad. However I'm struggling to find one central hub of information regarding the Masters course.

I have a few questions:-

Does studying for a Masters outside the UK mean it's a 2 year course as opposed to just the 1 in the UK ?

How exactly do I go about looking into studying abroad? I mean I'm absolutely clueless. Google is my friend but I think we're going through a bad patch.

Any guidance is welcomed and thanks for reading!
Abroad is fairly general!

I guess you can do it two ways: have a look within the UK for courses which interest you, and then try to find comparable courses elsewhere. Or (the way I'd do it/am doing) is to pick a country/area you'd realistically like to live in for a year or two at least, and then look at the different university options within that country, decide if the university system is for you, then look at different courses. Moving somewhere abroad for a prolonged period of time is very different to choosing a holiday destination, so somewhere which is great to go as a tourist might be horrible to live in perminantly, whereas somewhere you'd never dream of going on holiday might make the perfect university location. You have to filter in things such as ease of getting back to the UK and the cost, the cost of living, residency and immigration (not so much of an issue in the EU), banking and funding, language etc.