The Student Room Group

What universities should I apply for?

Despite what I could of should of got for my a levels, I have been predicted B in Mathematics, B in philosophy and ethics and either a B or C in English(most likely B), just need to get my reference from the teacher. I also got a C in theatre studies AS, just gave it up before A2.

Despite my choices, I’m pretty keen to do computer science. Bsc I think. Not that I am knowledgeable on all the courses and what they offer.

So what universities should I apply for? I’m attracted to CS by the number of different modules. I’m an amateur web designer and so would preferably like a course where I can do some web design. I’m also interesting in coding and even some more boring modules if it makes me employable. How the city life is, is very important to me, and also hoping for good sporting faculties.

So which universities is should I be aiming for? How many safe bet uni’s should I apply for, what would be too ambitious for me? Need any more details I am happy to give them.

Thanks.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Just general advice her I am afraid. If I were you I would apply to about two safe decisions and maybe one that is going to be difficult. With something like Comp Sci I imagine that there is a fair bit of variation in the courses offered so I think you really need to do some of your own research.
Reply 2
Please tell me you aren't applying for 2009 entry?
Have you looked at Reading? I've applied for IT with Management and apparently the computer science school is very good - lots of links with Thames Valley Park (ie Microsoft) and when I went everyone was friendly and apparently they are quite lax about their grades :biggrin:

Have a gander at their website :smile:

Also, if you're looking for slightly lower grades - have a look at Oxford Brookes. Good luck with your search!
Reply 4