The Student Room Group
Reply 1
Matlab is simple easy and useful. I like it but they are all very similar. It will probably depend on what engineering you do but Matlab is good :smile: ... I've tried C++ in school and now we use Matlab and it is much better then the heavy C++.
Reply 2
I've been recommended C and python by a friend but I'm not really sure whether an engineer would ever need (or whether it would be helpful) to learn them.

Which programming language would be best to learn and would help my CV the most when applying for Engineering jobs?

(I'm a beginner with programming, but I pick stuff up quite fast, so I'd prefer to learn an advanced one first if it's possible)

Mmmm. In terms of usefulness in a engineering job, I would say Visual Basic (for Applications) would probably be the most 'efficient' as it is near certain at some point in your career you will do something using MS Office applications that would be greatly speeded up by knowing the basics of VBA, while whether or not you would find an opportunity to use something more powerful like C(++) would be more dependent on your specific job (Proviso: this is based mainly on my experience of working in an engineering consultancy during my gap year). However as a language itself, VBA and even Visual Basic is fairly limited for more general usage, and does not lend itself to good programming practice.

In my (engineering) course we are being taught C++. This is the opposite end of the spectrum to VBA - powerful and flexible, but a lot more difficult to pick up (IMO). It takes a lot more to be able to make something useful using C++, but then there is little limitation on what you can code. Also if you were to learn C(++), I would say it would be much easier to pick up other languages such as VBA than vice versa.