address in
a public forum
please

The Employers Name
Full Address
Postcode

26TH January 2009

Dear Persons name or Sir/Madam,

I would like to apply about the possibility of a work experience placement with your hospital during the week 20 – 24 July 2009.

I am 17 and a student at Sutton Grammar School for Boys. I am studying A level’s in Biology, Chemistry, Critical Thinking, DT Graphics and Maths. I have combined the analytical skills I have developed from Chemistry and problem solving from maths with the work I have done in Biology to form a strong foundation for becoming a doctor.

Whilst I am trying to gain various work experience that will help confirm this as my career choice, I am writing to your hospital specifically as I would like to see what makes a good doctor and due to your excellent reputation, I feel that name of hospital would be the best place to do so.

Prior to this, I have experience of working in a care home with terminally ill patients and worked in Liaquat National Hospital in Pakistan for 2 weeks. There, I was able to compare the medical problems faced by each nation and how western and third world healthcare systems were setup. Having shadowed doctors through various departments, such as outpatients, paediatrics, pathology and radiology I have half-confirmed medicine as my career choice, but to be absolutely certain, I want to gain some experience here. I volunteered at British Heart Foundation for a year and during my time there; I was quickly promoted to cashier and was able to interact with members of the public from various backgrounds.

I am a good communicator, compassionate, have good etiquettes and am very organised. My personal interests include football, cricket, cooking and going out to the cinema.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,

SIGNATURE

Muhammad Usama Imran

-----------------------------------------------------------------------