The Student Room Group

Please, give me an advice about finding and starting a job!

Hi, guys. I am a student in London. I am an EU student and this is my first time here in the UK. I finished my first semester and now I have to find a job. I really need to work because I do not have any subsidiary income to support myself here. If i do not start a job I will have to suspend my studies eventually. Tongue Tied It will be really awful. I am asking for any advice about searching and starting a job. What I have tried by now is applying online through websites like gumtree and Reed. I have also applied online to stores like ASDA, Sainsbury's and Lidl. I have a few rejections though. I do not have a job yet nor a set interview. Am I doing something wrong or I do not push hard enough? Probably. I will appreciate any help and any advice. How and where to apply? Do I have to do it online only? Do I have to go at site? Please, tell me how you do it from your own experience. My studies are truly important to me and I do not want to lose them because of my income.

Thank you for your time!
*Subscribes*
Bubbles*de*Milo
*Subscribes*

Same here. I've not had as much as a rejection letter so far, need to know what I'm doing wrong.
I am applying online so far but tomorrow I am going to Tesco and other nearby stores to look for job vacancies. I was advised by a friend to do that. She told me that many people are applying online for the same position so it's better if I go on site. As for applying online for jobs I could recommend gumtree.com and job centre plus.
culinor
I am applying online so far but tomorrow I am going to Tesco and other nearby stores to look for job vacancies.

If it makes you feel better, you're probably better off in London than anywhere else in the UK.
Reply 5