The Student Room Group

HELP: Law at Uni

Hi everyone :smile: 1st time poster! *waves*

found this site a few days ago when i was doing a bit of research and it seems pretty useful so thought i'd set up a topic to see what the response would be!

I'm currently a yr12 student studying the IB
Maths (H)
Chem (H)
Bio (H)
English (s)
French (s)
Economics (s)

my GCSE results were 9 A*'s and 3A's

I'm hoping to study Law at Uni and was wondering what are the best places to apply to and why!

i'm also goin to the cambridge law conference in a week and bit which i'm pretty excited about. Has anyone been, or is going?

thanx in advance
Dan
Reply 1
PS: is there anything I can do before I apply to increase my chances of success? what to admin tutors look for etc?

Dan
I went to the law conference last year and had a great time. Even better I now have a place to study law at Catz!! Which college are you staying in? You'll have a great time. Watch out for duck rape and low flying lasers disguised as cucumbers though...

I think the big thing that's come out this year is how important it is to find yourself a univeristy that want less than AAA (or whatever the IB equivilent is) that you would be happy to go to. Quite a few people this year seem to be stuck with either nothing below AAA or a lower offer that they are reluctant to accept. I applied to Cambridge, Durham, Manchester, Nottingham, Warwick and UEA. I'd reccommend any except maybe Warwick (just a personal preference) - I don't even remember why I applied there now and they took 5 months for me to hear a single thing from them!