The Student Room Group

American at Christ Church

Hi guys. This forum seems to be very undergrad-dominated. I am an American currently studying at an Ivy-League school (Columbia) in New York. I wen to high school in Oxford, but never really became familiar with university life. Last year I spent at Clare College, Cambridge where I studied Politics. So, I have experience with Oxford, Cambridge, and American Unis.

I have been accepted to pursue my MPhil at Oxford next year, and I have been offered a place at Christ Church. My question is: what is the deal with Christ Church? It seems that everyone hates it despite its beauty and grandeur. I applied mostly because they have tons of $$ and I am hoping that they will help me out with some.

Does anyone know what CH CH grad life is like? Is it significantly different than undergrad life? Do undergrads and grads interact? I read somewhere that the grads have their own tables in the dining hall. Also, is there really a hierarchy of colleges? Sure, at Cambridge everyone went on about how Trinity was so posh etc, but in the end, every college accorded all of the other ones a due amount of respect (esp. Clare, hehe).

So, I am ravenous for Christ Church knowledge - the fantastic and the mundane. Anyone able to help?

- Brad
Reply 1
Bradford_Jordan
My question is: what is the deal with Christ Church?

ChCh is often thought of as a college of pompous asses. It's not prestigious in the same way that Merton, Balliol and St John's are. And it's different from Magdalen as well, which despite being thought of as a bit of a toffs' college is also regarded widely as a fun place full of interesting people. "The Hice", by contrast, has a stereotype of being full of tedious snobs. Probably unfair, but probably with a grain of truth.
Reply 2
ah, but its hall is used for the Harry Potter films :cool:
Reply 3
Hi Jordan (or is it Bradford?),