The Student Room Group

Psychology -- UCL, York or Warwick? + Job prospects for this course

Hey! I'm a prospective psychology undergraduate and I applied to and got conditional offers from UCL, Warwick and York..

UCL -- AAA
York -- ABB
Warwick -- BBBC

I should be choosing UCL as my firm choice.. But I have no idea which to choose for my insurance! And to top it all off.. I really have no idea what to expect for my A level grades ><

And does anyone know what psych is like at these 3 universities? Esp regarding their quality of of teaching (I heard that UCL teachers dont seem to teach very well *eep*), general learning environment, reputation, job prospects.. etc. Oh and I am an overseas student (from Singapore) so does anyone know which university is less daunting for foreign students?

Also! The job prospects for psychology (expressed in terms of percentage) as reflected in the Guradian UK university guide dont seem to exceed 70%! And so I'm kind of worried ><

Any help will be greatly appreciated! :smile: So thanks in advance!
Reply 1
UCL is definitely the most prestigious out of the three, but according to league tables, York is the best for psychology- closely followed by UCL. http://extras.timesonline.co.uk/tol_gug/gooduniversityguide.php?subject=PSYCHOLOY

You also need to be realistic- are you able to get AAA for your A levels? Both York and Warwick are well respected universities- but because you said you don't know what you're going to get for your A levels, it might be better if you chose Warwick as your insurance- due to its lower grades, it's something for you to think about.

Before making any decisions, if it is possible- go and visit the universities-- more importantly the psychology department!
Reply 2
slevien1
UCL is definitely the most prestigious out of the three, but according to league tables, York is the best for psychology- closely followed by UCL. http://extras.timesonline.co.uk/tol_gug/gooduniversityguide.php?subject=PSYCHOLOY