The Student Room Group

on colleges and sps (in massive need of help)

i am an international student from the philippines who plans to apply to cambridge for admission in 2006.

i have a couple of questions that i couldn't get answers for from any other site.

from what i've seen online, i'm leaning towards one of the following colleges - corpus christi, gonville and caius, kings, peterhouse, queens, st. catherine's, st. john's, sidney sussex, downing, jesus, clare, emma, pembroke, girton and trinity. still quite a long list and i need some help trimming it down. visiting is an unlikely option, as i live thousands of miles away.

1) do these colleges have a good reputation for sps? if not, what colleges are reputed well for sps?

2) in general, what are these(those above) colleges like? i wanna know more things apart from what i've read in the different prospectuses (the real ones and alternative ones) that tend to be sugar coated. i wanna know details about these colleges. like what are the people really like, how greatis studying there, how great the ents are, just really everything there is to know.

thank you very much in advance. :smile:
Reply 1
The alternative prospectus really is your best bet - they're not meant to be sugar coated and from what I've read it seems accurate to me. Plus it was updated only last year.

I think we'll all say that you should pick the college you like best because teaching is organised by the university. It's often difficult to tell which colleges have a particular reputation in given subjects and they can sometimes be undeserved. The 3 main things which differentiate between colleges are size, age and location.