The Student Room Group

Higher paying part time job?

I currently work in a small store that I hate. I am studying for a music diploma at the same time, but I am very tight on money, but can not find a more practical part time job, as the place I work is literaly down the road from me. Earning £5.50 an hour is quite tedious, and I was wondering what other jobs, part time might pay higher? I would be willing to do a short course in whatever it is in order to get a certificate/qualification to get the higher paying job, but am not sure of the ones available?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Trying to get any part time job at the moment is an absolute nightmare. I've never found anything paying more than £5.50 an hour what so ever (minus HCA work, which is a pig to get into, and I would guess you are too young for).

Good luck, but don't hold your breath.
Reply 2
I'd try going to a temp agency, get some call centre work, likely to be around 6.75-7/hour and should be a wide selection of shifts to choose from.
Reply 3
Its not much more but I work in Morrisons and its £6 p/hr and £9 on sundays. So you could maybe try the big supermarkets around you?
Reply 4
If your old enough, i saw an ad on a local newspaper looking for exam moderators - something along the range of £9 an hour?
Reply 5
There is like, nothing going. Im not at Uni and working 15 hours a week. Its depressing.
Reply 6
I work as a lifeguard for two leisure companies & assist with swimming lessons & earn £6.20 /hour, plus perks like free use of the gym facilities & classes etc.

If you're willing to get some qualifications getting qualified as a swimming teacher can earn you around £10 - £15 /hr but you normally have to pay for the course yourself & prices can vary. But if you have some spare cash & a week you can qualify as level 1. If you can get a leisure centre to pay for the course for you this can be very useful but they would probably expect you to work for them for a while afterwards.