The Student Room Group

Advanced Highes

Im about to make my course coices for 6th year and needed a bit of advice. I am currently doing Higher Maths, English, Modern Studies, Chemistry and Biology. For next year I was thinking of choosing Advance Higher Chemistry, Advance Higher Biology and either Advance Higher Modern Studies or Higher Business Managment. Do you think it would be better to take Advance Higher Modern Studies over Higher Business?

Are 3 Advance Highers need for medicine? Im planning to apply to a scottish uni.

Scroll to see replies

I'm no expert on the Modern Studies/Business front but I know that you don't need to be doing 3 AH's for medicine.

Personally, I know many people (all ny friends are applying to do medicine) who are doing either three AH's or 2 AH's (usually bio and chem) with two highers.

If you are planning to apply to England and change your mind I would undoubtedly take the 3 AH's though. :smile:
What theme does your school do for AH Mods? Ours does Law and Order and it is deadly boring, so I couldn't advise it.

On the other hand, I've heard lots of people find BM boring too, esp. if it's a crash.

AH English ftw! =)
What theme does your school do for AH Mods? Ours does Law and Order and it is deadly boring, so I couldn't advise it.

On the other hand, I've heard lots of people find BM boring too, esp. if it's a crash.

AH English ftw! =)
Reply 4
I think our school does comparitive politics but im not 100 percent sure. I'm not really fussed about either but im worried I would be at a disadvantage if I done 2AH and H compared to someone who has done 3 AH
chelski786