The Student Room Group

St John's accomodation

No, this is not a thread about the Cripps building. Well, not exactly! :p: I've received my accommodation form which I'm supposed to return to the College ASAP (unless I want to camp at the backs for the next year), and from what I've read I realize I can either choose between a bed-sitting and a set. Now, could someone PLEASE tell me what the difference between those two is? Cheers :biggrin:
Reply 1
...and I've just realized I've spelled accommodation wrong. Twice. And I'm studying English :redface:
Reply 2
slashkash
No, this is not a thread about the Cripps building. Well, not exactly! :p: I've received my accommodation form which I'm supposed to return to the College ASAP (unless I want to camp at the backs for the next year), and from what I've read I realize I can either choose between a bed-sitting and a set. Now, could someone PLEASE tell me what the difference between those two is? Cheers :biggrin:

A bedsit is a study bedroom, which you'll have to yourself. A set is a set of (usually) two bedrooms and a living room, (possibly kitchen and more) which you'll share with someone else.
Reply 3
Which one do you suggest? By the way is there any way I can see pictures of the actual rooms?
Reply 4
d750
A bedsit is a study bedroom, which you'll have to yourself. A set is a set of (usually) two bedrooms and a living room, (possibly kitchen and more) which you'll share with someone else.

Not in first year John's accommodation. A bedsit is a single room with no partition; a set is a bedroom and a study, with a dividing wall between them, which slides back and forth. You don't share sets till second year in New Court.
Reply 5
slashkash
Which one do you suggest? By the way is there any way I can see pictures of the actual rooms?