The Student Room Group
Reply 1
Graphic Design isn't primarily concerned with drawing, but many other disciplines such as photography. You may have to draw for certain units, but I wouldn't worry. Every student has different strengths and your teacher should recognise that. Furthermore, technical execution (the finished work) is often deemed secondary to how you develop your ideas. I didn't study A-Level Graphic Design, but I studied A-Level Art, and even then, many students weren't particularly good drawers, but still did well. Lastly, drawing will always help to articulate and express your ideas. They don't need to be masterpieces, but if you can improve your drawing through this A-Level, it will help you in the future, even as a photographer.
Reply 2
I did a BTEC national diploma in graphic design, and it was always sorta hammered into our heads that drawing is an integral part of graphic design, and i had loads of life drawing in my portfolio for university that only 1 out of 5 interviewers actually bothered to look at. I can't really draw all that well, which has been a downside on some modules such as animation. I do find myself having to come up with alternative ways of creating an idea to avoid having to draw it, so that i can make it look as best as i can. Is graphic design something you're considering for a career path? If so, then I would think your a.s course would be a perfect opportunity to improve said drawing skills, and maybe even find a style that isn't that bad at all. And like Matisse said, drawing will help to get your ideas across much clearer, so some skill is necessary I would think.

You've been accepted on the course so thats the main thing, but i would say consider you're career path before focusing on what you can't do very well compared to what you can do :wink:
Reply 3
*blush*