The Student Room Group

St.George or Birmingham?

Hey, um ive got offers for medicine (5yrs) from St George's (AAAb) and the University of Birmingham (AAB). So I'm really confused because i think st george is a pretty decent med school but ive heard that tootings a bit shady and the uni is small and since its purely health sciences based apparently you get a bit tired of it. I was wondering if birmingham would be better, it is higher up in the times ratings and has a pretty sweet campus. I'm an international student and really confused about which place to put as my first choice so any input would be greatly appreciated.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
i think bham.. you wouldnt wanna live in tooting its really rough
Reply 2
Im pretty sure medicine is meant to be the same everywhere, its one of those degrees where every uni has to follow the same course outline.
asian_doll
i think bham.. you wouldnt wanna live in tooting its really rough
Oh common, it's not that bad! :rolleyes:

OP, come to George's! :yy:
Reply 4
i'll say this nicely before somebody else starts screaming it at you: league tables mean jack all. it doesn't matter where george's is or bham is on them, either way you end up with an MBBS that's accredited by the GMC.
i applied to birmingham as well. absolutely loved it: the campus IS gorgeous and it just seemed like an amazing place. then again, i don't know george's at all (although !MEna is also biased so i don't know whether he's the best person to listen to, hahah!)
Reply 5
Some people want to be in London, does this matter to you? If so > SGUL

Some people want to avoid London, is this you ? > Birm

Some people like the idea of only being around other medics, is this you? > SGUL

Some people like being around people that are doing all different subjects, is this you? > Birm

The Birmingham campus is really nice, and its a nice big city with plenty to do. Not too sure about location and siting of SGUL.