The Student Room Group

"What contribution will you make to this Med School?"

I know this is a common question asked at interviews, but I don't know exactly what they are looking for. Is it enough to say you play football/tennis/cricket etc and hope to carry it on at med school? Or are they more interested in whether or not you are likely to be a student rep/help run the union etc?

I am interested because Im a graduate applicant, studying at a small rural campus, which has a union but only does sports and farming societies. The only things I have done to contribute so far are that I play in the women's basketball team, and I volunteer as an equine therapy centre assistant (which is onsite and run by students).

Are these types of things what they would be looking for? I'm also looking into helping run HE events next year too if that helps.

Scroll to see replies

Shockley
I know this is a common question asked at interviews, but I don't know exactly what they are looking for. Is it enough to say you play football/tennis/cricket etc and hope to carry it on at med school? Or are they more interested in whether or not you are likely to be a student rep/help run the union etc?

I am interested because Im a graduate applicant, studying at a small rural campus, which has a union but only does sports and farming societies. The only things I have done to contribute so far are that I play in the women's basketball team, and I volunteer as an equine therapy centre assistant (which is onsite and run by students).

Are these types of things what they would be looking for? I'm also looking into helping run HE events next year too if that helps.

have a look at the clubs the universities have on offer and think of a few you would join will look good at interview i suppose.
Reply 2