The Student Room Group

Cambridge application but no work experience

My situation is basically that I'm planning on applying to Cambridge, Bristol and Imperial in September. But at this moment in time I have no work experience and I'm unlikely to be able to get any in time for the application deadline. So my question is how important is work experience for engineering, in particular to the universities mentioned above? And if anyone does engineering at these universities, how much work experience did you have when you applied?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Reply 1
I'm probably not qualified to give advice about engineering, but I'd suggest applying for work experience anyway, and if you get a good placement, write on your P.S. that you "have been accepted for a placement at ______ in date which will add valuable practical skills to your academic strengths" or something like that. Just a suggestion :smile: as this is the advice we were given by our college.
Reply 2
I'm in the first year of college and hoping to go to Oxford to study law. I managed to get work experience (called 'shadowing' in my college :/ ) with a barrister for a week. If you wanted to go to these universities then you really should have realised the importance of work experience(/shadowing).

What other evidence have you got that you are interested in engineering to put on your application (have you entered any competitions, gone to any lectures etc)?
If you want to greatly increase your chances I would suggest trying to get experience anywhere, just so can put this on your application.

Assuming you have got good grades 'extra' experience/interest in your subject, engineering, needs to be put on the application.
Reply 3
Because two people who don't do engineering have posted I thought I would add

You're going to fail pathetically