Hey there Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

GCSE Btec Pass/Merit/Distinction Equivalent Grades?

Announcements Posted on
Study Help needs new mods! 14-04-2014
We're up for a Webby! Vote TSR to help us win. 10-04-2014
    • 6 followers

ReputationRep:
    Some of the subjects I am studying at GCSE next year are Btec, and they use the Pass/Merit/Distinction marks.

But what is the actual equivalents as grades?

I've heard that (at gcse) its:

Pass: C
    Merit: B
    Distinction: A*

But I've also heard people saying its this:

Distinction: A

Could someone just clear up what they actually are?

Thanks.
    • 6 followers

ReputationRep:
    Or is it totally different to what I posted?
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    Distinction could be either A/A* - I don't think there's a really an exact equivalent tbh. But I dunno, that's me just guessing. A s'pose a high Distinction would be an A* but they never really look at the actual marks so :dontknow:
    • 6 followers

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by anisha.doshi)
    Distinction could be either A/A* - I don't think there's a really an exact equivalent tbh. But I dunno, that's me just guessing. A s'pose a high Distinction would be an A* but they never really look at the actual marks so :dontknow:
    Oh, okay, I see what you mean. Thanks
    • 8 followers

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by joshphillips999)
    Some of the subjects I am studying at GCSE next year are Btec, and they use the Pass/Merit/Distinction marks.

Thanks.
    If it's a btec then it's:
    Pass - C
    Merit - B
    Distinction - A

If it's btec as in DiDA (ICT) it's:
    Pass - C
    Merit - B
    Credit - A
    Distinction - A*
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    You can get Distinction* you know, which is equiv to A*
    • 98 followers

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by anisha.doshi)
    This. Higher distinctions can get A* AFAIK.
    • 0 followers

ReputationRep:
    there is an exact equivalent:
    Pass C