The Student Room Group

MSc in Chemistry ?

Hi everyone,
I´m a Spanish Chemistry undergraduate who has received four unconditional offers to study a MSc in Chemistry. Here they are:

- MSc in Drug Chemistry at Newcastle University.
- MSc in Advanced Organic Chemistry at UEA
- MSc in Analytical and Forensic Chemistry at the University of Hull
- MSc in Anlytical Chemistry at the University of Teesside

Of course to make up my mind about which course will suit me the best I have been going through all the League Tables I could find as well as checking both the institution and the subject at the RAE Assesment Exercise by myself. But I do believe that being given any personal opinions will absolutely come in handy.

I have always had an interest on both Organic and Analytical Chemistry - as you might see according to the offers I was awarded -
and after having spent nearly six months in a clinical laboratory as an apprentice I realised that Medicinal Chemistry ( could be a position whithin the pharma, biotech industry, in a clinical laboratory or even pursue a career in academia ) is really what I want to do ( or at least what I´d like to try )

The MSc that - I think - really could appeal to me would be the one from Newcastle. As far as I could understand Newcastle seem to have a good reputation - as a member of the Russell Group - and apart from that anything related to Biomedicine at Newcastle seems to be highly rated. On the other hand, Chemistry at UEA has achieved good results at RAE and the course has a massive practical laboratory unit ( which is something quite interesting, too ), apart from the reaserch project.

I do know nothing about the likes of Teesside and Hull.

Any opinions ? Anyone who has been at any of these Universities in this field ?

Thanks in advance.
Is there a reason why you are not proceeding directly to a PhD?
Reply 2
Don´t think I didn´t give it a thought, but I´m not so sure I could proceed directly to a PhD.