The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
If you enjoy it, then go for it! I must say that it does take up a lot of time, but I didn't find it that hard like real work because I like art, so I found it quite fun. You just have to make sure that you stick to the assessment objectives to ensure that you have done each section of the project well :smile:
Oh yeah and annotate loads :biggrin: I just made up a load of rubbish about what I felt about the piece and that :smile:
Reply 2
I did Art GCSE and I loved it :-D if you like Art and are willing to do the work I reccomend going for it.
If you really enjoy it, go for it! But note the high grade boundaries for an A* :s-smilie:
Reply 4
Elsiebean
Hi I am in year 9 and i have to decide whether to do art GCSE or not.:s-smilie: I am a moderate artist especially in sculptures and i am prepared to do the work so just any tips or experiance would be helpful.
Thanks Elsiebean

It does take a lot of time, just don't leave the your journal work until the last week. Spread the work out evenly throughout the term and it will work well with other subjects.The art exam is earlier than your other exams (it is in April). You start the final piece research in January and you will start a new sketchbook and fill in as much is needed for research.
Stick to first hand research, such as using your own photo's that you took and not internet images, you can use a few, but first hand will get the high grades.
When reaerching artists, avoid writing loads about pointless stuff. It is better to have 100 words of analytical views of the actual work instead of 500 words talking about what art school they went to and what they had to eat for breakfast.
Do work you enjoy and try new things to find your artistic strengths!
I'm currently failing art GCSE , but why ? Because :

- Takes up to much time to complete a good piece of work , leaving you with no social life.
- You start to neglect other courseworks just to get ART done