The Student Room Group
University of Oxford, Pawel-Sytniewski
University of Oxford
Oxford

MSc in Finance - Cass, Oxford, Manchester

Hey guys,

I just received my B.S. from a good/not great college in the US. I graduated with honors and had a 3.86 GPA (i'm not sure how that translates to the graduate distinctions in the UK). I will be taking the GMAT soon and hope to get a very good score. I'm taking this year off to raise funds for graduate school, but I plan to apply for the finance courses at Cass, Oxford (Said), and the University of Manchester. How comparable are these programs, in terms of the coursework and their reputations? Thanks.

Brandon
Reply 1
In terms of reputation, where? Reputation on Wall Street or in the City? This said, Cass and Manchester do not compare to Said Business School in their ability to get you an interview.
University of Oxford, Pawel-Sytniewski
University of Oxford
Oxford
Reply 2
I was wondering more about reputation in the United States. It's obvious to me that Said is better known in the US, but how do you think a graduate from Manchester or Cass would do in the US job market?

Also, how do the MSc in Finance degrees at those two compare to the MPhil at Cambridge/Judge?
Reply 3
blopez0487
how do you think a graduate from Manchester or Cass would do in the US job market?
They would be handicapped severely compared to a graduate from a US school.

blopez0487
how do the MSc in Finance degrees at those two compare to the MPhil at Cambridge/Judge?

Very poorly.
The MFE at Said is extremely intense and so is the MPhil at Judge.
From what I've heard even MFE at Oxford is lightweight compares to the Mphil Finance at Cam.

The Mphil is really more suited to someone who wants to pursue finance further in academia, eg. PhD etc. (hence why Cam only wants first class students) I don't think it will be an easy access to employment etc... Said is better at that.
Reply 5
verticalforce