The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

I'm no expert, but the way things are going (i.e. getting ridiculously competitive) I'd say outstanding GCSEs may well swing it in some circumstances. Apparently Oxbridge takes them seriously as a discriminator - particularly in boys, who are supposed to be less mature at 16 and therefore less likely to work hard for them!
Reply 2
Much has been said about this in concurrent posts, in short:

The better your gsces, the better your chance at any uni for any course.

It isn't rocket science.

For a competitive course I would say you need A* in directly applicable subjects, A in associated subjects and b in the others.

Unless you take a gap year a levels are not known at application date, indeed as levels cannot be relied upon because they can be retaken for many reasons.
Reply 3
With most of best unis having multiple applicants with AAAA at A level vying for one place, top GCSE's is extremely important.

I'd estimate, with great generalistation, that atleast 4/5 A*, with no more than 2 B's is needed.
Reply 4
Completely depends on the course. Of course OXbridge applicants will all have AAA/AAAA, so they will go on interview, gcse grades, ums marks etc. Also - the more competetive the course, the more good gcse's will count for.
Reply 5
Does having more than the average number of GCSEs also impress Oxbridge? Say I was to end up with 13, but not all A* (most will probably be just As), would that by any chance greatly increase my chances of being accepted or is it just a waste of time and energy? I've asked this before and they said it was a waste of time but I was hoping for another opinion :P
Reply 6
Would you say that there's less emphasis on outstanding AS grades then, given that they're so often subject to retakes?
Reply 7