Declaring Grades on UCAS FAQ

Announcements Posted on
How helpful is our apprenticeship zone? Have your say with our short survey 02-12-2016
Admissions Testing Service Exams Discussion Rules - Please read before posting! 02-11-2016
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by dewdropdew)
    Hi, I have three strong A level grades, however I dropped psychology at AS as my result wasn't so strong (C). I'm worried this grade will hinder my application. Do I need to include it on my UCAS form?
    You must declare all grades so yes.
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by dewdropdew)
    Hi, I have three strong A level grades, however I dropped psychology at AS as my result wasn't so strong (C). I'm worried this grade will hinder my application. Do I need to include it on my UCAS form?
    http://help.ucas.com/contract12/index.html
    Ucas is very clear on the matter.
    Offline

    1
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Carnationlilyrose)
    http://help.ucas.com/contract12/index.html
    Ucas is very clear on the matter.
    Thanks for your help. Do you think putting down unit grades is a good/bad idea? Just got to the final stages of my application and stressing over every tiny detail!
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by dewdropdew)
    Thanks for your help. Do you think putting down unit grades is a good/bad idea? Just got to the final stages of my application and stressing over every tiny detail!
    It's all in the first two posts of this thread. Short answer, put all or none.
    Online

    2
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Hassan55)
    I did AS Maths at my secondary school (2 years ago) and got a U grade. I am taking maths at college and currently a second year student. I got a grade A at AS level when I did it last year. Do I have to enter the U grade as an AS level under my secondary school and also enter the A grade at my college on UCAS?
    I did not receive any as level certificates amongst my gcse ones, does this mean they haven't been "cashed in" , hence do not need to enter them?
    It will most likely be cashed in since you actually sat the exam. The reason you haven't got an exam certificate for it is because the result was ungraded. You have to enter all exam results on UCAS even if they are ungraded but the universities will take into the account that you sat the exam a year early.
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Hassan55)
    I did AS Maths at my secondary school (2 years ago) and got a U grade. I am taking maths at college and currently a second year student. I got a grade A at AS level when I did it last year. Do I have to enter the U grade as an AS level under my secondary school and also enter the A grade at my college on UCAS?
    Yes
    I did not receive any as level certificates amongst my gcse ones, does this mean they haven't been "cashed in" , hence do not need to enter them?
    Not necessarily - you need to check with your school as they may be holding them for you.
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    **** really? When I applied to colleges I just stated the stuff I passed at. I thought it was like a CV where you're just kind of expected to bend thr truth to sell yourself. Owell halfway through 1st year and nobodies said anything.
    Offline

    0
    ReputationRep:
    Please help me I am very confused

    In my secondary school I have done Pearson BTEC Level 2 Extended Certificate in Music and I was searching ucas application where I could enter this qualification but I could't find where to put it as there is just no such a qualification choice on the application form.
    Really frustrated.Help.
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by danielssfi)
    Please help me I am very confused

    In my secondary school I have done Pearson BTEC Level 2 Extended Certificate in Music and I was searching ucas application where I could enter this qualification but I could't find where to put it as there is just no such a qualification choice on the application form.
    Really frustrated.Help.
    Type it in under 'other'.
    Offline

    0
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Carnationlilyrose)
    Type it in under 'other'.
    Thank you, just needed reassurance. Appreciate your quick response,thanks.
    Offline

    0
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Hassan55)
    I had the same problem too, if it says on your exam certificates in brackets (QCF) then you should search for QCF and I think it comes up with BTEC extended Certificate (QCF)
    Yes it does but unfortunately it says

    'Do not enter your BTEC here if you began it during or after September 2010 - go back to the list of qualifications and select the relevant BTEC (QCF) qualification.'

    And there isn't relevant QCF qualification for me on their list
    Offline

    0
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Hassan55)
    I had the same problem too, if it says on your exam certificates in brackets (QCF) then you should search for QCF and I think it comes up with BTEC extended Certificate (QCF)
    I am so stupid, just saw it on the list, so sorry for wasting time everyone ohhh...
    Offline

    2
    ReputationRep:
    If I got a D in my English AS level, but I'm taking it onto A2 and resitting both of my modules from AS, do I need to add it as another AS and a full A level, or do I just add a full A level and put all of my modules as pending? Not sure if that was confusing.. But hopefully someone gets me
    Offline

    2
    ReputationRep:
    Can someone please help me
    I completed an AS in Biology with Edexcel in June 2014. I repeated year 12 and did AS Biology with AQA in June 2015 and due to circumstances I received a lower grade than what I got the first year with Edexcel. I then transferred/converted my Edexcel grade to AQA so I was able to continue with my school's AQA A2 course. I'm retaking an AS unit (an Edexcel paper) in June 2016.

    My problem is related to putting in grades/exam boards in the 'education' section. I know that I should put the GCE Advanced Subsidiary as being done with AQA, as the conversion to AQA has been completed. However, for the unit I am retaking, what exam board should I put down? Should it be Edexcel as the exam I am sitting will be an Edexcel paper, or AQA as the retaken unit will become part of an AQA A2 qualification? I really want to send my application off ASAP but I don't want to put the wrong thing. I emailed JCQ and they told me to ask AQA who haven't yet replied.
    Offline

    0
    ReputationRep:
    Hi guys,
    how do I start my own thread?
    Offline

    2
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by aliya101)
    Hi guys,
    how do I start my own thread?
    There's a 'post' button on the top left of the page.
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Oiseaux)
    Can someone please help me
    I completed an AS in Biology with Edexcel in June 2014. I repeated year 12 and did AS Biology with AQA in June 2015 and due to circumstances I received a lower grade than what I got the first year with Edexcel. I then transferred/converted my Edexcel grade to AQA so I was able to continue with my school's AQA A2 course. I'm retaking an AS unit (an Edexcel paper) in June 2016.

    My problem is related to putting in grades/exam boards in the 'education' section. I know that I should put the GCE Advanced Subsidiary as being done with AQA, as the conversion to AQA has been completed. However, for the unit I am retaking, what exam board should I put down? Should it be Edexcel as the exam I am sitting will be an Edexcel paper, or AQA as the retaken unit will become part of an AQA A2 qualification? I really want to send my application off ASAP but I don't want to put the wrong thing. I emailed JCQ and they told me to ask AQA who haven't yet replied.
    Good question, and a new one on me, I'm afraid. You could try asking UCAS for advice if you aren't getting an answer from AQA. The issue will be making sure that the result can be tracked to you on Results Day, and I truly don't know how it would work in these circumstances.
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    Hey!

    Going by this thread, am I right in saying that you can declare your grade as well as the UMS score for each module on the UCAS form?

    Also I was hoping someone could help me out a bit here :P I have a bit of a complicated situation, I completed my GCSES in 2012, then I moved countries and came back a year later to start my A-Levels in 2013. I completed my A-levels in 2015 achieving A*A*B (in chem, bio and RS respectively). I'm currently on a gap year retaking my RS exam to achieve an A/A*. So basically... I was wondering if the uni would think i've taken 3 years to do my GCSE's even though I did them over a two year period, because I had a gap year after them? Or would they think I've had a 4 year period to complete my A-Levels again even though I've done them over a two year period (well techinically 3 when I resit my RS)
    So basically:
    GCSES= 2010-2012
    Year out= 2012-2013
    AS levels= 2013-2014
    A-Levels= 2014-2016 (because retaking RS this summer) :confused: I don't think I've done a very good job explaining that haha but if anyone could help that would be really appreciated, thanks
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by chocbrownie)
    Hey!

    Going by this thread, am I right in saying that you can declare your grade as well as the UMS score for each module on the UCAS form?
    No, as the OP makes clear, you cannot enter both. You should enter grades unless one of your unis specifically asks for UMS (few do).

    Also I was hoping someone could help me out a bit here :P I have a bit of a complicated situation, I completed my GCSES in 2012, then I moved countries and came back a year later to start my A-Levels in 2013. I completed my A-levels in 2015 achieving A*A*B (in chem, bio and RS respectively). I'm currently on a gap year retaking my RS exam to achieve an A/A*. So basically... I was wondering if the uni would think i've taken 3 years to do my GCSE's even though I did them over a two year period, because I had a gap year after them? Or would they think I've had a 4 year period to complete my A-Levels again even though I've done them over a two year period (well techinically 3 when I resit my RS)
    So basically:
    GCSES= 2010-2012
    Year out= 2012-2013
    AS levels= 2013-2014
    A-Levels= 2014-2016 (because retaking RS this summer) :confused: I don't think I've done a very good job explaining that haha but if anyone could help that would be really appreciated, thanks
    Well, no, because the date you achieved the GCSEs will be when they would expect it to be. Also, when you enter the educational establishments you attended, you will show up the gap year because of the difference between finishing at one outfit and starting at another. Your referee would be well advised to explain in your reference why you took that year out, by the way.
    Offline

    0
    ReputationRep:
    nn
 
 
 
Write a reply… Reply
Submit reply

Register

Thanks for posting! You just need to create an account in order to submit the post
  1. this can't be left blank
    that username has been taken, please choose another Forgotten your password?
  2. this can't be left blank
    this email is already registered. Forgotten your password?
  3. this can't be left blank

    6 characters or longer with both numbers and letters is safer

  4. this can't be left empty
    your full birthday is required
  1. Oops, you need to agree to our Ts&Cs to register
  2. Slide to join now Processing…

Updated: December 1, 2016
TSR Support Team

We have a brilliant team of more than 60 Support Team members looking after discussions on The Student Room, helping to make it a fun, safe and useful place to hang out.

Today on TSR
Would you rather have...?
Applying to uni

All the essentials

The adventure begins mug

Student life: what to expect

What it's really like going to uni

Graduates celebrate

How to write a good personal statement

Expert PS advice from the people who will read it

Uni match

Uni match

Can't decide where to apply? Our tool will help you find the perfect course

Two students working together

A-Z of universities

Read our guides to unis and colleges from around the UK

A student working on a computer

Personal statement help

Use our tool to get your ideal PS quickly!

Hands typing

Degrees without fees

Discover more about degree-level apprenticeships.

A student looking down a microscope

Planning open days

Find upcoming open days and get advice on preparing.

Help out other students

These questions still need an answer

Groups associated with this forum:

View associated groups

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE

Quick reply
Reputation gems: You get these gems as you gain rep from other members for making good contributions and giving helpful advice.