Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Newbie Coders Chat

    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by BobBobson)
    First thing is that the question was asking you to create a static method in the LeapYear class that takes an int and returns a boolean. You're overcomplicating it by have constructors, instance variables etc. All you need is that one static method, and main which should call it a few times..
    Can you show me, at least some of the code, i need for this? I don't know how to do what you have told me Bob?!
    Offline

    1
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by john2054)
    Hi my good friend. Here are the latest programs i would greatly appreciate your help with:

    Attachment 585208

    http://pastebin.com/9QWb1duP

    http://pastebin.com/Nm5wdZpF

    Thanks!
    bool isleap(int year)
    {
    return year % 4 == 0 && year % 100 || year % 400 == 0;
    }
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by john2054)
    Hi my good friend. Here are the latest programs i would greatly appreciate your help with:

    Attachment 585208

    http://pastebin.com/9QWb1duP

    http://pastebin.com/Nm5wdZpF

    Thanks!
    http://pastebin.com/D5nVgcQK
    You're welcome!
    Online

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by john2054)
    http://pastebin.com/4UYWgDAZ

    Is this one any better??
    Yeah that's better, but I would put that if statement within its own boolean method - boolean isLeapYear(), just to keep main as clean as possible, so it will be like:
    Code:
    static boolean isLeapYear (int year){
        if (...)
            return ...;
        else
            return ...;
    }
    and then in main, after receiving the year from the user you could have something like:
    Code:
    public static void main (String[] args) {
        if (isLeapYear(year))
            ...
        else
            ...
    }
    Also, I'm not sure whether it's pastebin, but the whitespace seems very off and it's making things hard to follow.
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by 571122)
    http://pastebin.com/D5nVgcQK
    You're welcome!
    (Original post by BobBobson)
    Yeah that's better, but I would put that if statement within its own boolean method - boolean isLeapYear(), just to keep main as clean as possible, so it will be like:
    Code:
    static boolean isLeapYear (int year){
        if (...)
            return ...;
        else
            return ...;
    }
    and then in main, after receiving the year from the user you could have something like:
    Code:
    public static void main (String[] args) {
        if (isLeapYear(year))
            ...
        else
            ...
    }
    Also, I'm not sure whether it's pastebin, but the whitespace seems very off and it's making things hard to follow.
    Thanks guys, i have now passed the course, thank hell!
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    Does anyone here know which websites/books I can use to practice Java? From scratch ideally... thank you.

    Posted from TSR Mobile
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Enginerd.)
    Does anyone here know which websites/books I can use to practice Java? From scratch ideally... thank you.

    Posted from TSR Mobile
    http://www.headfirstlabs.com/books/hfjava/
    Online

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Enginerd.)
    Does anyone here know which websites/books I can use to practice Java? From scratch ideally... thank you.

    Posted from TSR Mobile
    https://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/

    I taught myself java from there. It's the official tutorial made by Oracle.
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by BobBobson)
    https://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/

    I taught myself java from there. It's the official tutorial made by Oracle.
    Thanks, appreciate it

    Posted from TSR Mobile
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by john2054)
    Thanks guys, i have now passed the course, thank hell!
    Thank heaven, that is.
    • Thread Starter
    Online

    3
    ReputationRep:
    So that's why JavaScript is such a pain to learn
    https://hackernoon.com/how-it-feels-...77f#.87w8sexys
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    Of course.
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Craghyrax)
    So that's why JavaScript is such a pain to learn
    https://hackernoon.com/how-it-feels-to-learn-javascript-in-2016-d3a717dd577f#.87w8sexys
    lol
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Craghyrax)
    So that's why JavaScript is such a pain to learn
    https://hackernoon.com/how-it-feels-...77f#.87w8sexys
    I'm sticking with OOP and angular even if its "so 2015" jumping on every bandwagon like that will not end well.

    I mean the real sad thing is your jumping through all those hoops to achieve what real languages do strait out the box.
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by INTit)
    I'm sticking with OOP and angular even if its "so 2015" jumping on every bandwagon like that will not end well.

    I mean the real sad thing is your jumping through all those hoops to achieve what real languages do strait out the box.
    I don't know if i can be bothered to do the last week of this course, seeing as i have now achieved a passing grade, and it is not going to go up any more?
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    Does anyone know if it is possible to download Linux to a USB pen in order to boot it to onto a Windows 10 laptop (without creating a partition on the laptop itself), and then being able to actually save stuff onto the USB pen too?

    I have to use Fortran as a part of my degree and would like to be able to program at home too, but I don't want to have a partition on my laptop.
    Thanks
    Online

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by l1lvink)
    Does anyone know if it is possible to download Linux to a USB pen in order to boot it to onto a Windows 10 laptop (without creating a partition on the laptop itself), and then being able to actually save stuff onto the USB pen too?

    I have to use Fortran as a part of my degree and would like to be able to program at home too, but I don't want to have a partition on my laptop.
    Thanks
    You definitely can, but I would question why you wouldn't want to have an actual partition on your pc.

    This is a pretty good guide:
    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/13379...b-flash-drive/

    and is also has an alternative method using a virtual machine:
    http://www.howtogeek.com/97177/how-t...hout-the-mess/
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by l1lvink)
    Does anyone know if it is possible to download Linux to a USB pen in order to boot it to onto a Windows 10 laptop (without creating a partition on the laptop itself), and then being able to actually save stuff onto the USB pen too?

    I have to use Fortran as a part of my degree and would like to be able to program at home too, but I don't want to have a partition on my laptop.
    Thanks
    Fortran IDEs exist on Windows, Code::Blocks is the one that pops to mind.
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    ****. I've been doing real real real badly recently! I will get back into it from MONDAY!!! I hope!! Everyone, keep me accountable!
    Offline

    3
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by BobBobson)
    You definitely can, but I would question why you wouldn't want to have an actual partition on your pc.

    This is a pretty good guide:
    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/13379...b-flash-drive/

    and is also has an alternative method using a virtual machine:
    http://www.howtogeek.com/97177/how-t...hout-the-mess/
    A few reasons that I didn't want to have a partition: I don't really know what I'm doing, so I'd prefer to do a simpler/safer way, especially since some places say that creating an actual partition can cause problems if done incorrectly.
    Thanks for the link. Can I still save Fortran files on the USB if I do it that way?

    (Original post by _gcx)
    Fortran IDEs exist on Windows, Code::Blocks is the one that pops to mind.
    If I use code::blocks, will it be the same as if I were to be using Linux (ie, text editors, terminal etc)? And can I save stuff using that?
 
 
 
Write a reply… Reply
Submit reply

Register

Thanks for posting! You just need to create an account in order to submit the post
  1. this can't be left blank
    that username has been taken, please choose another Forgotten your password?
  2. this can't be left blank
    this email is already registered. Forgotten your password?
  3. this can't be left blank

    6 characters or longer with both numbers and letters is safer

  4. this can't be left empty
    your full birthday is required
  1. Oops, you need to agree to our Ts&Cs to register
  2. Slide to join now Processing…

Updated: November 25, 2016
TSR Support Team

We have a brilliant team of more than 60 Support Team members looking after discussions on The Student Room, helping to make it a fun, safe and useful place to hang out.

Poll
How many mugs of tea do you drink a day?
Useful resources

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE

Quick reply
Reputation gems: You get these gems as you gain rep from other members for making good contributions and giving helpful advice.