Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Oreos are veggie-friendly now!! (And vegan I think!) Watch

    Offline

    16
    ReputationRep:
    I didn't know that they weren't veggie before! Oops

    Will watch out for whey powder in the future.
    Offline

    17
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by therisenmitten)
    Don't you guys find it disturbing that a biscuit with a "creamy" filling is now vegan?
    What else does it have in it if not milk?
    Much of the people on planet earth are actually lactose intolerant to some degree as you can see here from this map. Thus it makes economic sense for companies to look for alternatives to milk in order to enable them to take advantage of the rising economies in places like China, South East Asia, South America, and the Middle East, etc :yes:

    But to answer your question there are many alternatives to cows milk such as soy milk, rice milk, oat milk, etc.
    Offline

    12
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by fire2burn)
    Much of the people on planet earth are actually lactose intolerant to some degree as you can see here from this map. Thus it makes economic sense for companies to look for alternatives to milk in order to enable them to take advantage of the rising economies in places like China, South East Asia, South America, and the Middle East, etc :yes:

    But to answer your question there are many alternatives to cows milk such as soy milk, rice milk, oat milk, etc.
    Fair enough.

    It just seems unlikely that they would use something like soya milk instead of bulking them up with additives and high-fructose corn syrup like the american vegan-friendly oreos.
    Offline

    11
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by LinzyLoo)
    Whey comes from the cheese-making process. Making cheese involves using rennet, which is a mixture of enzymes that separates the curds from whey by coagulating it. Authentic rennet comes from the stomach of dead calves. In the UK most cheeses like cheddar are made using microbial rennet, which is made by genetically engineered bacteria (E. coli I think <3). But the whey that Kraft were using was from cheese made using calf rennet. That's why it's not veggie. Other products affected are Carte D'or ice cream and Ferrero Rochet. Mars were going to switch to non-veggie whey back in 2008 and then changed their mind because of a massive outcry.
    People consider something non-vegetarian because its been made using enzymes from a dead animal? Lulz.
    Offline

    12
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by LinzyLoo)
    x
    Thanks, I might try it out
    Offline

    17
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by LinzyLoo)
    Whey comes from the cheese-making process. Making cheese involves using rennet, which is a mixture of enzymes that separates the curds from whey by coagulating it. Authentic rennet comes from the stomach of dead calves. In the UK most cheeses like cheddar are made using microbial rennet, which is made by genetically engineered bacteria (E. coli I think <3). But the whey that Kraft were using was from cheese made using calf rennet. That's why it's not veggie. Other products affected are Carte D'or ice cream and Ferrero Rochet. Mars were going to switch to non-veggie whey back in 2008 and then changed their mind because of a massive outcry.
    Ferrero Rocher aren't veggie? Oh for ****s sake
    Offline

    1
    ReputationRep:
    Oh man this is the best news ever. I've been so jealous of the USA for having vegan oreos, its about time!
 
 
 
Reply
Submit reply
TSR Support Team

We have a brilliant team of more than 60 Support Team members looking after discussions on The Student Room, helping to make it a fun, safe and useful place to hang out.

Updated: April 4, 2013
  • See more of what you like on The Student Room

    You can personalise what you see on TSR. Tell us a little about yourself to get started.

  • Poll
    Have you ever participated in a Secret Santa?
    Useful resources
  • See more of what you like on The Student Room

    You can personalise what you see on TSR. Tell us a little about yourself to get started.

  • The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

    Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE

    Quick reply
    Reputation gems: You get these gems as you gain rep from other members for making good contributions and giving helpful advice.