Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
    Offline

    1
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Carnationlilyrose)
    I didn't know that, but will make a note of it in case Virgin fails us! The landline is fine, although it's had its moments in the past. BT just haven't wanted to know about recompensing us. We are still fighting them over the £30 they want to charge us for stopping giving us the internet. Spouse is a pretty tenacious force to be reckoned with, so they won't get away easily, but as they have been overcharging us for years, we are about £70 in credit, which they will just help themselves to, I don't doubt.
    Well if you feel you have exhausted the complaints process, contact CISAS for advice as they'd be your next escalation point. The fact that you're migrating already may mean they can't help, but no harm in asking.
    That or Watchdog on the TV, a bit of media intervention seems to work wonders!
    • Thread Starter
    Offline

    16
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by UUSee98)
    Well if you feel you have exhausted the complaints process, contact CISAS for advice as they'd be your next escalation point. The fact that you're migrating already may mean they can't help, but no harm in asking.
    That or Watchdog on the TV, a bit of media intervention seems to work wonders!
    We're not that vindictive. We don't need the money that badly! It's more a point of principle, but not worth more effort than that. Once we are enjoying our nice new shiny Virgin internet, we'll not even give it a thought. (Incidentally, we have had to restart the Home Hub 4 times tonight as a point of reference.)

    What happens if I leave the 'leave a copy on the server' box ticked? Does that mean there's not a copy on the hard drive? (I've lost track here!) Because if it means that I can have a copy on the server, on the hard drive and on the external drive as well, that must be better. Or does its existence on the server mean that BT can wipe it off my hard drive? (I know this is a question that's going to make you facepalm!)
    Offline

    1
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Carnationlilyrose)
    (I know this is a question that's going to make you facepalm!)
    Not at all, it's a fair and valid point.

    Several reasons really.
    That tick to leave message on the server was so that when you were configuring and testing Thunderbird for the first time, you wouldn't lose anything as you would only be downloading a copy.
    The original would still be available online through your webmail.
    You could leave that tick there upto and beyond when BT are replaced. BT will eventually delete your email account if you don't choose to pay the cost of keep it going. You can pay a fee to keep the email alive even after you have left.

    I was thinking more from the point of housekeeping whether you want to delete everything in BT webmail (NOT Thunderbird!) on the last day or you're happy for BT to close the account and all the emails within it.

    I'm not saying that someone will look through your emails once you've left, I'm sure they're too busy for all that, it's just more of a clear down thing, housekeeping thing. They'll have backups on a commercial scale anyway so even if it's deleted by you, they're required by law to keep backups for certain periods of time anyway.
    • Thread Starter
    Offline

    16
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by UUSee98)
    Not at all, it's a fair and valid point.

    Several reasons really.
    That tick to leave message on the server was so that when you were configuring and testing Thunderbird for the first time, you wouldn't lose anything as you would only be downloading a copy.
    The original would still be available online through your webmail.
    You could leave that tick there upto and beyond when BT are replaced. BT will eventually delete your email account if you don't choose to pay the cost of keep it going. You can pay a fee to keep the email alive even after you have left.

    I was thinking more from the point of housekeeping whether you want to delete everything in BT webmail (NOT Thunderbird!) on the last day or you're happy for BT to close the account and all the emails within it.

    I'm not saying that someone will look through your emails once you've left, I'm sure they're too busy for all that, it's just more of a clear down thing, housekeeping thing. They'll have backups on a commercial scale anyway so even if it's deleted by you, they're required by law to keep backups for certain periods of time anyway.
    Oh right, I see. The server copy will go anyway, but they can't wipe the Thunderbird copy, because that's been the whole point of this exercise. I don't mind about the server copy remaining. They can delete it for me. Given how long it has taken to download the few folders I've already done, I think that's a few days of my life I won't bother wasting! I like to think anyone reading my emails would find them amusing, but I hardly think they will be able to use them for anything.

    I'm getting seriously worried about how much disk space this is taking up. I haven't gone near the 7877 file yet... Wish I wasn't so verbose...
    Offline

    1
    ReputationRep:
    Correct, the email account and the server copy will go eventually after a period of time.
    Once downloaded it'll be on your Mac so your sole responsibility, barring any hardware failures - hence the backup onto your external drive.

    When you do decide to stop it tonight, feel free to go through some of the emails and attachments in Thunderbird, check they're fine and accessible.

    I should hope that not all 7877 emails will have attachments, so the ones without attachments will fly through quickly, it'll slow down for those with large attachments, plus it all depends on how fast your broadband speed is.

    Will probably sign off soon, but I'm notified when there's a new reply so will check in if need be. Looks OK.
    • Thread Starter
    Offline

    16
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by UUSee98)
    Correct, the email account and the server copy will go eventually after a period of time.
    Once downloaded it'll be on your Mac so your sole responsibility, barring any hardware failures - hence the backup onto your external drive.

    When you do decide to stop it tonight, feel free to go through some of the emails and attachments in Thunderbird, check they're fine and accessible.

    I should hope that not all 7877 emails will have attachments, so the ones without attachments will fly through quickly, it'll slow down for those with large attachments, plus it all depends on how fast your broadband speed is.

    Will probably sign off soon, but I'm notified when there's a new reply so will check in if need be. Looks OK.
    You've been an absolute star. Can't thank you enough. If there's anything actually student-y I can help you with, you have only to ask!
    Offline

    1
    ReputationRep:
    No problem, you're welcome. Glad I could help in some way.
    Full time carer now so just keeping my brain ticking over!
    Have a nice weekend!
 
 
 
  • See more of what you like on The Student Room

    You can personalise what you see on TSR. Tell us a little about yourself to get started.

  • Poll
    Has a teacher ever helped you cheat?
    Useful resources
  • See more of what you like on The Student Room

    You can personalise what you see on TSR. Tell us a little about yourself to get started.

  • The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

    Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE

    Write a reply...
    Reply
    Hide
    Reputation gems: You get these gems as you gain rep from other members for making good contributions and giving helpful advice.