Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Tottenham Hotspur v Chelsea, 15 April 2012, 18:00 (FA cup semi-final) Watch

  • View Poll Results: Which London team will make the cup final?
    Tottenham
    35.29%
    Chelsea
    64.71%

    • Community Assistant
    • Welcome Squad
    Offline

    16
    ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    Welcome Squad
    Can the ref not send Cech off? would have been red if bale wasn't there though... 2-1
    Offline

    0
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Isometrix)
    Would have been better for Spurs if they had a penalty with Chelsea on 10 men.
    It should be a goal and a red card. That's the idea of a play on. You accept it's a foul but you let the play carry on.
    Offline

    15
    ReputationRep:
    Eva :drool:
    Offline

    0
    ReputationRep:
    The red is given for denying a goal scoring opportunity and since Bale scored, the red can't be given.
    Offline

    10
    ReputationRep:
    I guess its because he didnt stop a goalscoring oppurtunity as Bale tapped it in, lucky break for Cech
    Offline

    0
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by El Torres)
    It should be a goal and a red card. That's the idea of a play on. You accept it's a foul but you let the play carry on.
    I think this too. This is what should have happened.
    Offline

    17
    ReputationRep:
    Don't agree with people saying Cech should still have been sent off.
    Offline

    0
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Cookidge)
    Yeah, maybe they should have given the linesman a clearer view while trying to defend their goal.

    Idiot.
    before you start cursing you nob i know it was MILES of the line.in which bit in my point did i deny that?!:eek::eek::eek:
    Offline

    10
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Isometrix)
    How's it Chelsea's fault? The referee made a terrible decision. Now if Chelsea win the game and go further people are going to remember this goal and how it should never have been.
    Mata wheeled off in celebration even though he had a clear view and would've known it hadn't crossed. He's duped the ref and is just as bad as rolling around on the floor after a tackle to make it seem worse.
    Offline

    14
    ReputationRep:
    "New football rule being trialled at Wembley, the ball only has to go near the goal to be counted, Torres is ecstatic."
    Offline

    1
    ReputationRep:
    It's not a red card. Tottenham were stupid for continuing with that advantage (or lack of it). They should've taken the penalty and red card. Much more beneficial situation.
    Offline

    11
    ReputationRep:
    Was Bale offside?
    Offline

    2
    ReputationRep:
    What's hilarious is that apparently (not seen the replay) Bale was offside for that goal. Which just makes this even more hilarious and embarrassing for the officials.
    Offline

    15
    ReputationRep:
    Lol

    Lennon flattened Cole and Kalou.
    Offline

    10
    ReputationRep:
    How was Bale offside wasn't he behind Adebayor when he got fouled?...
    Offline

    16
    ReputationRep:
    I thought Bale was behind the ball when Adebayor touched it last :dontknow:

    The goal line decision was just horrific, you don't even need technology for that, he should be able to make a decision that easy by himself. I can sympathise with the goal or penalty and red one because whatever the outcome it doesn't quite seem fair, but the first one...:facepalm2:
    Offline

    1
    ReputationRep:
    If Rowan Atkinson had a twitter account, imagine the abuse he would get from Spurs fans. :rofl:
    Offline

    2
    ReputationRep:
    Terrible refereeing has marred this game. First Mata's "goal", then a rather dubious decision to not give Cech a card (think at the very least a yellow for what's clearly a foul).

    As a Chelsea fan I have to say it doesn't feel good to be ahead like this...
    Offline

    0
    ReputationRep:
    Bale is ****ing merking Bosingwa, making him look like a clown :rofl:
    Offline

    15
    ReputationRep:
    (Original post by IWantSomeMushu)
    Don't agree with people saying Cech should still have been sent off.
    Surely the fact a goal came after is irrelevant to the incident?

    If someone denies a goal scoring opportunity by keeping the ball out the net with their hands, but the team is still able to get the rebound and score straight after, the handball is still a red is it not? It should be irrelevant that denying the goal scoring opportunity came before another opportunity straight after.
 
 
 
Reply
Submit reply
TSR Support Team

We have a brilliant team of more than 60 Support Team members looking after discussions on The Student Room, helping to make it a fun, safe and useful place to hang out.

This forum is supported by:
Updated: April 16, 2012
  • See more of what you like on The Student Room

    You can personalise what you see on TSR. Tell us a little about yourself to get started.

  • Poll
    Has a teacher ever helped you cheat?
  • See more of what you like on The Student Room

    You can personalise what you see on TSR. Tell us a little about yourself to get started.

  • The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

    Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE

    Write a reply...
    Reply
    Hide
    Reputation gems: You get these gems as you gain rep from other members for making good contributions and giving helpful advice.