The Student Room Group

Recommend a good German grammar book?

I'm looking to teach myself both basic and perhaps a little more advanced German grammar - can anyone recommend any good guide books for this? Preferably something set up for self-teaching rather than as a course companion. I'm not a complete beginner at German (IB HL German) but my grammar is questionable at the best of times and I'd like to finally get it sorted and have a strong grounding.
Reply 2
ah, perfect! That is exactly what I was looking for - thank you!
Reply 3
Hammer is good. I also have "The German Handbook" by Paul Webster.
Reply 4
For something that's quite lightweight, Collins do Easy Learning books on vocab, conjugations and grammar for each of the popular languages - German as well as French and Spanish. I've bought all three for German, they're about £7 each but they're really good with all the tables, example sentences for each point like conjunctions etc...
Reply 5
aktion grammatik. 'nuff said.
Reply 6
The Collins one? If it's the first time you've studied a foreign language, I would not get this book though; it uses a lot of technical terms etc which could confuse some.
Reply 7
not sure if they have the german equivilant but look for schaum's outline to grammar.
ive got the french 1 and its v.useful
I've been using 'English Grammar for Students of German' - it explains each point in simple English, gives English examples and then explains how it works in German and gives German examples [which are the same as the English ones, only is German]. Of course, you might have bought a book by now!
The Hammer books and English Grammar for Students of German are both great - although the second title is probably redundant if you have bought the Hammer books.
I always found Essential German Grammar to be fine for me, although one of the contributors is the same as the author of the Hammer book, so it's a small field really.
Reply 11