oxbrige Advice needed Watch

osmith467
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 9 years ago
I am a grade A student, with 10A* and 1A at GCSE.
Yet I got AAAB in my AS' because my teacher taught me the wrong poetry in my English Literature class and my mum was suicidal the night before the exam, as she was abandoned by my dad. I got full marks in my coursework but a c in th exam because 'my theme didn't match the poems'. Yes, I do regret not claiming special circumstances! However, nothing can be done about this now and I will simply resit it in Jan and get my four As.

But I have never got a B before in anything and feel totally crushed. I want to apply to top unis like Cambs for Modern languages and to others, like Kings and UCL to study Law with French. Basically I just need some reassurance that my aspirations are still realistic and that all is not lost, along with some oxbridge advice re interviews and applying.
Thanks for all your help
Xei
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
Apply through CSAS, you have clear mitigating circumstances so it should be absolutely fine; do well at interview and you have a good chance.
emilY?
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
http://www.cam.ac.uk/admissions/unde...forms/csas.pdf for CSAS (Cambridge Special Acces Scheme) info. Even if you don't qualify, which I imagine you do at first glance but you can always email the uni to check, the SAQ filled in when applying may provide a space to mention something like this. You're aspirations are absolutely realistic, fear not
xinolisss
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
I don't really think one B is going to be hardly a problem for you.