Degree certificate Watch

RBarack
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 9 years ago
I'm currently completing the online enrollment for Civil Engineering at Swansea University, and i've been given the option to receive a degree from either Swansea University, or the University of Wales. This seems a little weird since Swansea and Cardiff both broke away from the UoW recently, yet I still have the option to receive a degree from the UoW.

Should I opt for the Swansea University degree for graduation, or the University of Wales one?

Thanks in advance.
thesky
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
I graduated from Aberystwyth this year, and my degree is from the University of Wales. This year however current Aber students, in years 1 and 2 have been asked if they want a University of Wales or Aberystwyth University degree. Which to choose? well;

University of Wales Degrees are well respected being originally given out by Cardiff, Aber and Bangor for over 110 years and at Swansea for 90, so a university of Wales degree has allot of history. HOWEVER, this has changed in recent years with expansions in higher education. With the 'big four' (Cardiff, Aber, Swansea, Bangor) now going independent and with the fact that in the last 20 years the U of W has been validating degrees from ex polys and some suspicious 'Christian colleges' in the US, http://www.timeshighereducation.co.u...orycode=402842 the U of W is going down a slippery slope of decline in prestigue. University of Wales degrees are given out by Swansea Met, Glyndwr University, UWIC, Trinity Camarthen, Newport ect all 1992 unis.