Turn on thread page Beta

Binge drinking in students watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello all,

I am a postgrad student at Paisley University, doing my PhD in binge drinking (Yes I have heard all the jokes ). Part of what I am interested in is looking at the difference between the stereotypical image of binge drinkers and what really goes on.

As part of this I am conducting an online survey at...

http://freeonlinesurveys.com/rendersurvey.asp?id=91605

...which takes about 5 minutes to complete and is completely confidential. I am also interested in what people think about binge drinking in general though so if anyone has any comments they would like to post please do so

ReputationRep:
    I think binge drinking is partly a result of moral decline due to Thatchers destruction of industry (therefore whole communities)

It's also due to more middle class kids growing up in an age of more independence where many have jobs where the money is used for leisure only almost.

Every time I go out to town I binge drink. I don't fall on the floor and be sick, but I binge drink.

ReputationRep:
    It's also due to more middle class kids growing up in an age of more independence where many have jobs where the money is used for leisure only almost.
    The reason why they binge more is that the government has taken a dim view of boarding schools having their own bars, thus many dont have them on more. The result is that they dont know how to drink in moderation, previously we were taught this.

The advent of binge drinking coincided with the availability of alcho-pops.

The taste of alcho-pops, being fruit based makes them more palatable than say a dry white wine, lager, vodka and tonic - several can be drunk within the space of one hour, the alchol content is high, the taste inoccuous and the result deadly!

ReputationRep:
    Most middle class kids don't go to boarding schools though I wouldn't have thought.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Northumbrian)