Turn on thread page Beta

Did anyone take flute exam before?or other instrumental exams? watch

ReputationRep:
    Well, im gonna take flute Grade 5 exam (Associated Board) in summer. did anyone take that kind of exam before? wot is it like,especially for aural?
    its my first time to take grade exam for flute. im kinda nervous for aural coz i never did proper training before, just some practice by myself.

thank u!!
    • CV Helper

ReputationRep:
    CV Helper
    I did violin exams up to grade 5 and flute to grade 7 (the last flute exam I did was a couple of years ago now).
    Don't worry about it is my best advice! I always worried about the violin ones but with the flute, I enjoyed them much more so did much better. The way mine worked was I played my 3 pieces (with a pianist accompanying for 2) and the examiner wrote down comments and marks about them. Then I did the sight reading exercise, which isn't too bad but I'd suggest you do some practise if you haven't already - you can buy sight reading books from music shops which will give you an idea of the standard they'll be expecting. The examiner specified some scales and arpeggios to play (at least one of each sort, you know, major, minor harmonic, minor melodic, chormatic, etc.).