Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm just starting a Biomed degree as a top-up but as far as I can see they're not giving me an option to do the placement... I'm thinking I'll be in just the same position as I am now in a years time when I graduate. I have no experience in a lab. I'm trying now, paid, work experience, voluntary, anything but with no luck. Just like everyone else.

I don't know much about it yet, but does anyone know if you can just ask to get a placement? I presume not but thought I'd pick other peoples brains.

ReputationRep:
    What do mean by top up? you've done a bms course which wasnt accredited or?

Keep asking everywhere, ring and ask for tours, one or multiple placements. My lab didnt mind people coming for a tour, but there wasnt the option for work experience, due to the time to train people.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Bathwiggle)
    What do mean by top up? you've done a bms course which wasnt accredited or?

Keep asking everywhere, ring and ask for tours, one or multiple placements. My lab didnt mind people coming for a tour, but there wasnt the option for work experience, due to the time to train people.
    By top-up I mean I've done another Life Science degree and I'm using what I've done in that one to get a Biomed degree by doing the remaining 3 modules. Yeah I'm trying everywhere I can think of for work experience, but usually either it's a straight no or they just don't get back to me. Anyone know if you can ask at hospital labs..? I kind of assumed they'd be controlled about who they let into NHS labs.

ReputationRep:
    when i did my placement year i did work in an nhs lab, and we only had people come for a tour to see what it was like. St peters in surrey do a thing where you can shadow a bms for a week.

The worst they can say is no.