Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    i am currently a gap year assistant student trying to get some teaching experience.

i've got an interview soon for a teaching assistant vacancy and i've been told to bring a portforlio if i have one, however i have no idea what this is and i was wondering whether someone could tell me what it is made up of.

Also just wondering are any other jobs that i could be looking for apart from teaching assistant/classroom assistant to gain more experience for priamary teaching?

thanks for all the help!

ReputationRep:
    I guess any job that shows experience of the school environment and/or children of the right age will be helpful. Have you thought about jobs as a before/after school club supervisor, or as a lunch time supervisor? I guess there's also office work/admin or running sports clubs or music lessons after school or lunchtime.

I assume that you would prefer paid work, but there's always the voluntary option too. Listening to primary school children read, helping at a youth group (Brownies/Beavers/Badgers/Girls Brigade/Boys Brigade/anything) or working at a Summer School might help too.

With regards to the teaching assistant portfolio, I would assume they want copies of any relevant qualifications (CACHE/NVQs/degrees etc) and a current CV. Perhaps any case studies of work you have already done?

My mum's a teaching assistant at the moment, and I know she has a portfolio that she is required to keep every year, so I could ask her what is in that, if it would help?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Explorer Dora)
    I guess any job that shows experience of the school environment and/or children of the right age will be helpful. Have you thought about jobs as a before/after school club supervisor, or as a lunch time supervisor? I guess there's also office work/admin or running sports clubs or music lessons after school or lunchtime.