Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hey im a learner driver atm, on my 8th lesson in about 6 weeks or so and am learning in a diesel car, i bought a car recently (Peugeot 206 1.4) and it's a petrol car.

I've heard from some people that when you switch you end up stalling a lot at first but i'm not going to be switching per-say because im still going to be having lessons in the diesel car with my intstructor but i'll also be driving my car with one of my rents in the car.

Long winded post...i guess what i wanna know if theirs any tips when going from one to the other and also whats the actual difference in terms of driving..

Thanks if you read this, lol <_^

:driver:

Petrol when bringing up the clutch you HAVE to put power or you stall, with diesel as you will know you can take it so far past bite and it will roll.

It only takes 10 minutes to get used too.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Rucklo)
    Petrol when bringing up the clutch you HAVE to put power or you stall
    Really? My car doesn't stall. Are you sure it's not just you?

(Original post by py0alb)
    Really? My car doesn't stall. Are you sure it's not just you?
    You can take your petrol car past the bite and get it to roll?

ReputationRep:
    Diesels have more low end torque so are less likely to stall, when pulling away. They also have more torque across the rev range meaning you won't need to stir the box as much as you do in a petrol. Saying that though i find that my mum's cars (previous one (320d) and new one (E250)) are more sensitive at low speeds when compared to my 1.6 petrol Focus petrol, but this may just be due to me being more use to the Focus.

ReputationRep:
    Yes. I can sit on a steep hill and hold the car on my clutch using neither brake nor accelerator then pull away. I have had two petrol cars and before that a diesel, and could do it on all three.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by DeeDub)