Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    So I just got back from ice skating a while ago and I must have fallen about 100 times. :eek: I still can't hack it though!!

I wish I could ice skate nice and smoothly but it just never happened

So what do you guys and girls think? did you slowly get better? btw it was my first time

ReputationRep:
    Hi! I've been skating for the last 14 years and trust me, it gets easier! The first few times are all about dealing with falling and getting used to the uncomfortable sensation of gliding rather than walking/running. Soon enough you'll get used to where you need to put your weight and when and where you should be applying pressure and "pushing off" the ice. Give it a few more tries and the basics will be strong enough for you to start experimenting with some different stuff ie going backwards, turning around, changing direction and stopping (by using the ice skate not by running into the barrier!). The level and rate of increase is different from person to person (it's harder for taller people- like me unfortunately!). Don't get frustrated by falling cos every time you fall you learn where NOT to put you weight and soon enough you'll gain control of your movements and be able to think about what your doing- rather than just trying to stay vertical! Bruises are your trophies!!

ReputationRep:
    i remember going with my mom when i was like, 5, and i fell over a hell of a lot. at once point i thought someone was going to chop my fingers off.

i go occasionaly now, still fall over from time to time.

ReputationRep:
    I've been like 5 times in my life. Each time its like 2 hours, in the first 1 to 1 and a half hours its just crap then you get it and then you leave.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ZH89)
    aw yeah - thanks for the reply. Towards the end I kind of picked it up but then i'd lose it again!! i'll keep trying :yes:

and 14 years wow that's alot of experience!!