My chances of getting a TC? Watch

TCU
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 9 years ago
Hi guys and girls,

Please provide your reasoned opinions on my potential to change to a career as a solicitor. In the interests of context:

I have a 1st class degree in Business Studies from Liverpool John Moores (graduating in 2007), grades BCC at A level (Law, History, French) and A* and As at GCSE. For the woefully inadequate A levels I have neither an excuse nor mitigating circumstance, I took my eye off the ball in my second year and have learned that particular lesson the hard way.

I am currently working in a good graduate level position (commercial, not law related) and earning an average salary for a fresh grad (between £25 and £30k). It is largely this job security (current climate considered) and an unwillingness to quit my job without a training contract which drives me to consider sponsorship for GDL and LPC as the best route for me into the law.

I fully understand that my A levels will negate the possibility of my obtaining sponsorship for a TC with an MC or SC firm. I would be very grateful if anyone would outline the types of firm for which I may be an appropriate candidate. I have been looking at the Wragge website with interest.

My initial reasons for giving serious consideration to career as a solicitor were for the improved job security (I work in an industry that has been hit hard by the downturn and this has opened my eyes), greater intellectual challenege, variety of work, meritocractic nature of the business (I hope this is not a false belief!), monetary reasons (I am happy to admit that I would like to be comfortable and am prepared to work as hard as is required) and prestige.