Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I was just wondering if any of you know who exactly is elligible to have a student bank account - I tried looking around the bank's websites but they just confused me and i couldn't find what I wanted.

I'm an EU student, so not elligible for a student loan ( ), but can I still get a student bank account? Because they sound like they have great offers and the interest free overdraft also sounds very good...

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Adarah)
    Hi, I was just wondering if any of you know who exactly is elligible to have a student bank account - I tried looking around the bank's websites but they just confused me and i couldn't find what I wanted.

I'm an EU student, so not elligible for a student loan ( ), but can I still get a student bank account? Because they sound like they have great offers and the interest free overdraft also sounds very good...
    Yes you can get a student bank account, although terms are somewhat different for students who have just entered the country.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ChemistBoy)
    Yes you can get a student bank account, although terms are somewhat different for students who have just entered the country.
    ah cool, thanks! I was just worried I might not even be able to get that... maybe i'm worrying too much . They come and try to get you to sign up at fresher's fair, don't they? So I can ask about the terms then, I'm sure I can survive for the first few days without a UK bank account, since I just got a new ec card that works in the whole of Europe :cool:

ReputationRep:
    I did hear that as an EU student, one is not entitled to the overdraft benefit, though. You ought to check with current international students, in my opinion!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Jandarini)
    I did hear that as an EU student, one is not entitled to the overdraft benefit, though. You ought to check with current international students, in my opinion!