The Student Room Group
Reply 1
Philosophy over class civ any day. Although classics is actually quite tricky to get your head round, if it's the respectability of the course you're worried about philosophy is far superior imo.
I got offered places at the LSE and Oxford with philosophy as one of my A levels, if that's any indication. It certainly wasn't listed as a 'we don't count this' subject for any of the courses I applied to.
Hope that helps,
skevvybritt x
Reply 2
Very respecatable. Useful if you go on to do either Arts or Science related subjects and teaches you to write well and present ideas clearly. Unless you are planning on doing something specific (like definitely a Science at uni or post A-level) in which case do subjects related to that, philosophy is one of the best all round subjects. And it's damn good fun.
Reply 3
HEY,
I am a student who has just studied religious studies at full ALevel, i think you should definetly do AS r.s simply because first it's an essay based subject which is highly regarded, although that doesn't mean other subjects like science are useless, as i am doing a Science too. ALso R.S is mainly to do with logic,which is really good, and it teaches you very good essay skills, i learnt more about essay skills in R.S then in my Alevel English Literature! :eek: !! AS r.s well easssssy trust me, :biggrin: i'm sure many will agrree with me there and lastly its real fun and interesting, lol u get so into it. Definetly go for it!!!! :smile:
I agree, i think philosophy is more useful than English Lit when it comes to developing essential skills of critical thinking and organising coherent essays. I got offers from really good unis with philosophy as part of my offer. Enough said

Steve
Reply 5