Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    If it's so unpopular what's the deal with their degree requirements.. sure it's hard, I love science.. i'm studying chemistry and biology, i'd love to consieder studying physics but i couldn't handle a-level mathematics.. which nearly everywhere applies.. i'm good at chemistry and definately a physical scientist.. i reckon i could handle a-level physics.. but maths is my downfall, it is a big part but surely it can't be intensely horrible.. any ideas?

i figured they'd be happy to take me if i'm dedicated, but i wont bother if the maths is really horrible, they would get pissed off with me struggling with the harder maths concepts

at GCSE level i was fine, but it is all the algebra and invisible maths i can't do, i'm actually quite spacially aware with graphs and circle theorems for example

ReputationRep:
    What are you asking? Can you get onto physics at university without A level maths? No.

ReputationRep:
    you can with AS maths to some uni's

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by stratomaster)
    but there will still be loads of maths to learn at uni

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by stratomaster)
    No, honestly, you can't.

ReputationRep:
    nowadays even A-level maths is not really adequate. Unis spend the first year of a physics degree teaching people the maths they feel the undergrads should already know!

If you are that horrible at maths, physics is an impossibility i'm afriad.

ReputationRep:
    Maths at uni tho for physical sciences is very different from a level maths it worth noting, the emphasis is very much on applying it

Still if you can't do a level maths to a reasonable degree I would go for something else.

ReputationRep:
    I can't believe I got neg repped for saying you can't do physics without maths?! Face it, my anonymous buddy, you do need maths!

ReputationRep: