A2 Accounting - Dissolution and Admitting a new partner.

Watch
my_anon
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 11 years ago
Help, my teacher is really bad, he doesnt explain any of this well and my text book is confusing. Do you have any notes of dissolution of a partnership and admitting a new partner. If not could you got throught the steps with me. I really like accounting and want to get an a/a* in it!

P.S. quote me so i can come back to the tread thanks!
Ice_Queen
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
Have you got any specific questions?

I'm a third year Accountancy student, and I did two Law modules in my first/second year, so I've been through some of this but my notes may be a little more in-depth.
wildbeast15
Badges: 0
Report 11 years ago
For the dissolution part you have to balance off all asset accounts except the cash and bank and transfer the balances to the Realisation account,
then the provision accounts such as doubtful debts into realisation.
Assets sold are put into the bank account and credited in the realisation account,
the takeover of assets by partners are debited in there capital account then credit in realisation,
realisation expenses are credit bank then debit realisation,
creditors paid off are debit creditors then credit bank, if there is discount then the discount goes in the realisation account on credit side,
then share the profit or loss on realisation, debit realisation and credit capital for profit and vice versa,
if there are any loans debit loan account then credit capital,
then transfer partners current accounts to capital account,
If partner has a debit balance creedit capital then debit bank
finally remaining cash/bank balances are uused to repay the credit balance on partners' capital a/c
hope it makes sense, too me an age to write
Freddy Jnr
Report 11 years ago
(Original post by my_anon)