Self taught A Level (Sociology or Psychology)

Watch
puddleduck
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 10 years ago
Hello everyone,

I'm currently in year 11, and really want to read medicine (A100) at university. I'm going to take Biology, Chemistry, Maths and Philosophy at AS (at least), and a physics enrichment (AS over 2 years) but want to self teach myself another A Level, most likely to AS standard.

I want to self teach myself either sociology or psychology A (AQA) and was wondering about some stuff...

1) Do you have to have studied the subject for a year to take the exam?
2) Following on, do you think it would be possible to do a 'crash course' over the summer, then just revise during the year?
3) Would it be (honestly) acheivable to get high grade?

Thankyous

-Jemima
goldsilvy
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
1) Nope.

2) Having studied Psychology at AS last year I have to say I might be a little bit challenging. Depends on each individual though, you might find it easier than I did.

3) As already said, depends. And what's a high grade? A? B?
fox_the_fix
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
No
Yes (whether it's an official course or you just do a **** load over summer yourself I don't know)
Yes

Gl with medicine.
mathew551
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
Why not just take all 5 AS levels?
puddleduck
Rep:
?
(Original post by mathew551)
Why not just take all 5 AS levels?
My school doesn't offer sociology or psychology.
puddleduck
Rep:
?
(Original post by goldsilvy)

3) As already said, depends. And what's a high grade? A? B?
Yeah, A*-B.
mathew551
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
(Original post by puddleduck)
My school doesn't offer sociology or psychology.
Hmm. There are other things you could do apart from this.
ByronicHero
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
You can easily get a high grade through self teaching yes.
confused1991
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago